Start with ‘Why’. An Introductory Post

Start with ‘Why’ (An Introductory Post)

Hello there 😄 If you’re reading this, you fall into either of these 3 categories: 1.You are bored 2.  You value my thoughts as a friend 3. You are bored + You secretly want to laugh at me after judging my writing.

Regardless, I’m thankful you’re here (except for number 3, I don’t like you 😡). This first post is an introductory one to share my thoughts on starting this site, and hopefully you you’ll learn something too 🙂 Future posts will mainly be audience focused content.

We fear change, which is why I wavered before starting… Is it worth it? Am I credible enough? And ofc the classic concern- What would people think, what if they laugh at me  ˃̣̣̥⌓˂̣̣̥ ?   Chances are you had similar fears when starting something new.

Yet, the major reason to start was my ‘Why’ – the desire to write a book someday, a book that’s part of my vision, which is : To inspire people globally to lead purpose driven and authentic lives, through speaking, coaching, writing and entrepreneurship.

I started out pretty lost. Culture and Formal education doesn’t focus on (sometimes frowns upon) dream-building. And like most students, I grew up focusing on grades without a strong self-awareness of the talents I could develop.  It was only through a prolonged struggle that I gained clarity and drive.  I also realized the depth of my family’s love, and found solid friends and mentors I could count on.  It is paradoxical, that our greatest pain can sometimes be the biggest blessing.

[If you’re reading this, it might be useful to start with ‘why’. Everyone has unique gifts, talents and value to offer. A higher awareness helps one seek meaningful work that nurtures this abilities.  Most students plan primarily towards graduation and grades, and when they achieve it, might feel disillusioned.  ‘What’s next?’  (I believe a lack of self-awareness is a major reason students get frustrated. Of course we would be, because we’re trying to live up to societal, parental and other’s expectations, instead of our own true values.  In the end, we please everyone except the only person that matters –ourselves.  I guess I’ll write more about this in future, I digressed because I feel for this]

Even with a clear reason, I still needed push factors to get out of my comfort zone.  Two phrases came to mind: ‘Your comfort zone is your failure zone’ and ‘Success begins at the end of your comfort zone’. There’s great depth to these quotes, and I’ve used it numerous times when advising students or friends to pursue something of value.  Yet, I was chickening out when applying it. So for fear of being a phony, I decided to take my own advice.

Finally, the main push factor was from someone I don’t know personally- the writing of a man whom has passed on, which shows how positive influence can extend beyond your life. I read a bestseller entitled “From Breath to Air”. The author, Paul Kalanithi is a skilled neurosurgeon with a love for writing and literature, and a fascination for meaning, morality and mortality.  In cruel irony, he gets diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer.  Instead of losing faith, he battles through the pain, goes back to neurosurgery, nurtures a baby, and writes an autobiography in his final 2 years of his life.  I was in tears, deeply moved by his courage and clarity in uncertainty and weakness.  What excuse do I have?

I’ll digress again to share my favorite passage from the book, where the author reflects after losing his friend. (His friend, also a doctor, couldn’t bear the burden of losing a patient and took his own life).

“Our patients’ lives and identities may be in our hands, yet death always wins. Even if you are perfect, the world isn’t. The secret is to know that the deck is stacked, that you will lose, that your hands or judgment will slip, and yet still struggle to win for your patients. You can’t ever reach perfection, but you can believe in an asymptote toward which you are ceaselessly striving”

These words are deeply philosophical yet extremely practical.  It’s a reminder that an obsession with perfection is suicide, for we will always fall short and be crushed by the weight of unrealistic expectation.  Yet, it’s not an excuse for mediocrity, reflected through words like:  “Aiya, confirm fail one, why bother trying”.  The solution then is an asymptote (a perfect metaphor)-a line that approaches a curve but never touches it.  In other words, we strive to lead purpose driven lives, yet being acutely aware of our imperfection; To be fiercely ambitious, yet be kind to ourselves in failure; To, in compassion, take on the burden of others, yet know that some burden, too heavy to bear, is better left to a higher power.

If you’re an ambitious perfectionist like me, then this would’ve probably impacted you as much as it did for me.  I sincerely hope it helps you find that delicate balance.

Ok it seems like I digressed too much (sigh), gotta keep future posts concise …Oh damn…Im trying to be a perfectionist again haha

Anyways, this links to starting this endeavour– how I had fear writing doesn’t come naturally to me (its 3.30am now and I’ve spent quite a while on this post).  Then I remembered the earlier passage, and what my focus should be. Perhaps, like me, you’re thinking of pursuing something you value, yet have similar fears.  Remember the passage and this quote by Zig Ziglar: “You don’t have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great”

I’m coming to the end, if you’ve had the patience to read till here, I love you.  Unless you are reading to pretentiously judge me, then I don’t love you.  Kidding, I still do, because “love your haters yo”.  *massive cringe*

I’ll end this post with the objectives and scope of writing:

1.  I’M GOING TO BE FAMOUS. Personal branding. Ok ignore this

2.  For Others.

It is my sincere hope that readers can take away applicable value.  I’m glad even if it’s just 1 person, not including my Mum. (Hi Mum, I know you’re stalking…) She always has doubts when I do something unfamiliar, but ends up supporting me.

The biggest problem in training programmes a lack of follow up. Without it, people regress to their old habits. This site can be a tool to direct people I’m training to learn from.  I’ll be writing within the scope of my work and passion – Education, Entrepreneurship and Soft Skills (Leadership, inter/intra personal communication, etc)

3. For Myself.

This platform is a tool to practice my writing and document my thoughts.  It’ll help me develop mastery of content, and be a better writer and speaker. It’s a stepping stone to my aspirations, and a way to receive feedback.

That’s about it…Thanks for reading this, I do appreciate it and hope you’ve taken away some value. Look forward to writing in future 🙂

Leave a comment